Bluffton Reflections

I attended my first CFH meeting in 2004, at Hope College in Michigan.  I became hooked immediately.  The discourse and community of Christian scholars–Christian historians, even, met a deep need to connect with those who share a life of the mind and dedicate their lives to faith.

Downtown Bluffton, OH

Downtown Bluffton, OH

The Bluffton meeting met my expectations once again.  I had the privilege of delivering the student plenary Wednesday night.  It was a sort of memoir of my academic journey (perhaps I’ll share some of it on the blog later).  And the professional conference gave me hope, once again, that grad school has an end in sight!

Highlights:

*Joel Carpenter’s plenary (I called my husband and told him I wanted to move to Asia)

*Praying to Aristotle (and maybe Herodotus and Josephus, too)

*Luke’s Bar and Grill (for the grill, of course)

*Menonite foundations (hooray for peace and justice!)

*Graduate Student Reception (great company and I actually saw the sunrise for once)

*New friends!

Explore posts in the same categories: CFH

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

