No Comparison

“When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise.” (2 Cor. 10:12)

I have two problems with comparison. First, I compare myself to others. In grad school, that can be paralyzing. So-and-so finished his doctorate in just 3 years with 12 kids and a full-time job, what have I been doing? (And apparently I tend to exaggerate, as well.) Or, she got the fellowship I applied for and I’m way smarter than she is!

Second, I compare myself with myself. Being intrinsically motivated is good, beating myself up over deadlines not met or goals unreached is bad. “I’ve done this so much better in the past!” Or, “I definitely could have pulled an all-nighter to finish this at 21, now I’m too old!”

I could go on in both these categories. But it’s not fair to anyone, others or myself. We all have unique circumstances that set us apart from other people and from our past. What we are able to do best right now is what matters. And there’s grace in that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

