Zotero

A few weeks ago I blogged here about citing sources. Well, I found something better than EndNote. It’s my new obsession: Zotero.

Zotero is a FREE web-based citation organization system developed by historians. Among other things, you can add sources from an online library catalog with one click, insert auto-formatted footnotes or bibliographies into a Word document, and organize your sources into multiple categories. It’s changed my life. Really. I’m not exaggerating.

Spend an hour or so getting to know this program and it will save you lots of headaches. Note: you need the Mozilla Firefox web browser, which you can install for free on any computer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tips

3 Comments on “Zotero”

  1. Laura Says:

    Sounds like a good suggestion. Have you tried RefWorks? (If so) how does it compare to that?

  2. Audra Yoder Says:

    Hm, I may have to try that! Is it better than RefWorks?

  3. cfhgradstudents Says:

    I’ve not tried RefWorks, so I’m not sure about the comparison. But I do find it much easier than EndNote, and very valuable that you can access it from anywhere via the internet.


Leave a Reply

