Dispatches from Graduate School – Part 28

Cali Pitchel McCullough is a Ph.D student in American history at Arizona State University. For earlier posts in this series click here. –JF

Sometimes I forget that I am good at things besides school. There is more to my life than book reviews and research, but often I forget how much I love taking photographs. Capturing a moment in time is the photographer’s craft, which has striking similarities to that of the historian. The historian, too, captures a moment in time—preserving memories and attempting to combat the ephemeral nature of the present. So, I suppose my passions align nicely. Now if only writing an historigraphical essay was as simple as the snap of a shutter.

Explore posts in the same categories: Dispatches, Grad School

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

