Academic Status Update

Many graduate students are a part of a largely digital generation and are used to “status updates.”  For the sake of developing community here at the CFH Grad Student blog, it would be great if we could share a quick “status update.”  Just give us a sentence or two in the comments section about where you are (physically and progressively) in your program.

It only takes a minute!  You can post as “anonymous,” but tell us who you really are in your comment.

I’ll get us started.

I’m Greg Jones, fifth year PhD student at Kent State, and I’m currently editing my dissertation on Civil War soldiers in southeastern Ohio.  I am an adjunct history professor at Kent State and Geneva College, teaching a mix of intro and upper division courses.

Alright everyone… let’s hear the update!

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging, CFH, Getting Connected

6 Comments on “Academic Status Update”

  1. Brian Says:

    I’m Brian Franklin, finishing up a dissertation on Home Missions and the Early Republic at Texas A&M University. Looking for a job to start in Fall 2012!

  2. Kyle Owenby Says:

    My name is Kyle Owenby, I am teaching to history courses at Young Harris College and applying to Ph.D programs!

  3. ryan Says:

    My name is Ryan, this is my first semester in the History MA program at Rutgers University. Work is getting very intense as the semester winds down! :O

  4. David Says:

    My name is David Misal, and I am a first semester MA History student at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. For what it’s worth, I am primarily intereste in pre-20th century American and British religious history, especially Puritanism and the progression of American religion into the nineteenth century.

  5. quinnlovescali Says:

    Cali McCullough, second year PhD student at ASU. Studying 20th C. Urban History. Trying to make it though the next week alive. 🙂

  6. Mary Sanders Says:

    I’m late to the ballgame, but…

    Mary Sanders, 2nd year PhD student at Oklahoma State University, studying 20th-century U.S. religion, especially how institutions respond to terrorism. I’m recovering from the AHA and trying to pretend that the semester hasn’t started yet, even though I just picked up a paper from a prof with comments in two different colors of ink.


Leave a Reply

